No more But’s

“When we are stuck, choice is threatening because it implies change. When you accept your power over these choices, you’ll have begun the process of being more open and free.” Joan Anderson

I love that! Everyone is afraid of change, at least in one form or another. It implies the unknown, and I am the first to admit, I am my own biggest enemy. My biggest block from moving forward.

Joan Anderson tells a story of herself complaining to a friend, and when that friend makes suggestions, she immediately shuts them down, with a that’s great but…….. We’ve all been there right! I know I have. She suggests that we stop using BUT and replace it with AND.

AND equates to moving forward. We need to let go enough of our fears, our insecurities, our blocks enough to entertain new options, and “add-on” ideas.

Yes, it would be great to take a week long holiday BUT I have kids, work, etc

or

Yes it would be great to take a week long holiday, and I may be able to do an extended weekend instead.

So the exercise: Count your BUTS. HOW many times you use it, HOW you use it and try to replace it with AND.

How’d your calendar exercise go? Are you making more time for yourself? I’ve joined a book club that meets once a month. It’s baby steps, but at least I’m moving in the right direction.

7 comments

Leave a Reply

